FLOOD-CDT is a collaborative partnership involving four world-class UK Universities:

and three Research Centres:


Collectively research staff at these seven organise provide expertise across all the main drivers of flooding and will host the PhD students.

Southampton Uni Logo
Bristol Uni
CEH Logo



FLOOD-CDT has exceptional buy-in from the flood sector. It was co-designed and is being co-delivered with an additional 40 partners representing local authorities, national government, national organisations, water, energy and infrastructure companies, environmental, engineering and management consultancies, regulators, finance and (re)insurance companies, accreditation institutes, and charities, reaching across the UK and abroad. 


PhD students will undertake projects that investigate real-life problems experienced by our partners. Our partners will host placements and help us deliver our training programme

Our external partners are: ABPmer; AON; Arup; AXA; BCP Council ; Canopius; Coastal Partners; CIWEM; DFl; EDF; Environment Agency; Fathom; GallagherRe; Hampshire & Isle of Wight: Fire & Rescue Service; Historic England; I-STORM; Jacobs; JBA Consulting; JBA Trust; HR Wallingford; Melanesian Mission; Met Office; National Trust; Natural England; Newcastle Local Authority; Network Rail; Natural Resources Wales; Office for Nuclear Regulation; Previsico; RWS; SCOPAC; Scottish Environmental Protection Agency; Sayers and Partners; TRT; Verisk; Wessex Water; WRT; and WTWCP.

Management Team: The team that leads FLOOD-CDT is:

Ivan Haigh

Prof Ivan Haigh

CDT Director

Jenny Brown

Dr Jenny Brown

CDT Deputy Director

Gemma Coxon

Dr Gemma Coxon

Student Voice

Jeff Neal

Prof Jeff Neal

Training lead

Dr Gareth Old

Dr Gareth Old